No Confidence Motion Accepted in Lok Sabha against Modi Govt.

Sumitra Mahajan the Speaker of Lok Sabha has accepted the No Confidence motion against NDA Govt. TDP i.e. Telgu Desam Party which was the former ally of the NDA government has admitted the motion of No Confidence against the NDA Government which was supported by other 50 MP (Member of Parliament). Due to this progress a trust vote or we can say that floor test will be conducted on 20 July 2018 (Friday). A day long debate will happen in the Lok Sabha on Friday and after it Vote will be conducted.

BJP has issued a three line whip to its MPs, and also asked its allies to do the same. At present, the chief whip of BJP is Anurag Thakur 3 times MP from Himachal Pradesh. Trinmool Congress has also issued a whip. But, it has sought a change of voting date. UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi gave a statement, ‘Who says we don’t have the numbers?”

What is really a no confidence motion?

For many people it comes like a shock because NDA government which is led by BJP has comfortable numbers in 2014 election. No confidence motion is motion passed always against the government. According to the principle of parliament executives are responsible to Lok Sabha. They can work until they have the majority or confidence in the Lok Sabha. If they lose the confidence in Lok Sabha the government will fall down. Rule of Indian Parliament says that a government must have majority support in the Lok Sabha in order to remain in power.

When ever any member of Lok Sabha (or lower house) feels or believe that the government has lose their majority in the Lok Sabha they can move ‘a no confidence motion’ in Lok Sabha. One thing you must note here that is No confidence motion can only be initiated in Lok Sabha and only the members of the Lok Sabha can vote in no-confidence motion.

The motion was put to vote after a day long debate. The vote can be conducted via different modes likes “Voice Vote”, “Division Votes” or other means.

How and who can propose the No Confidence Motion?

As per Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha,  any member of the house can move a no-confidence motion. Member initiating the no-confidence motion has to give a written notice of the motion by 10 am to the Secretary General of the Lok Sabha on any day of sitting. This motion need to get support of minimum 50 MPs of Lok Sabha.

Reason are not required for moving a no-confidence motion. One thing more we want to add here that is No Confidence motion is passed against the whole government and not the particular Minister or member of cabinet. The Minister family or Cabinet sail together and sink together.

History of No Confidence Motion

  1. In August, 1963, Acharya Kripalani moved the first ever no-confidence motion on the floor of Lok Sabha. This happen immediately after the lost of Indo-China war. It was failed.
  2. The most number of no-confidence motion is faced by the Indira Gandhi. She faced 15 no confidence motion.
  3. After a long span of 15 years i.e. after 2003 we are witnessing the no-confidence motion and that is also against that party government which got majority on its own.

Many people raise the issue of Anti-defection law that make the no-confidence motion or any other motion in the Lok Sabha irrelevant. It is because the majority party can use their whip to guide their MPs to do as per party diktat. If they go against their party then they will face anti-defection which can disqualify them as an Member of Parliament.

It will be a test of BJP and their alliance which is going to show who is going together in coming Lok Sabha election which is due in 2019 (if no confidence motion fail).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *